Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register

AAAOM welcomes you to become involved in a leadership or member capacity on a committee. If you are interested in participating, please email the committee(s) directly, or contact us at


Acupuncture Science & Research Committee


Chairperson: Jacob Godwin, DAOM, LAc


Email this committee

The purpose of the Acupuncture Science & Research Committee is twofold. First, the ASRC retrieves and critically appraises current acupuncture research data for the purposes of producing various types of critical research assessments, guidelines, and position papers for the AAAOM and the acupuncture field. Second, the committee develops and maintains professional and educational outreach projects in order to provide much-needed leadership in the acupuncture field regarding acupuncture science and to promote research literacy among acupuncture students and licensed acupuncturists.



Conferences, Meetings & Events Committee


Email this committee

The purpose of the AAAOM Conference Committee is to plan, promote, and supervise administration of the Annual Conference, as well as other events, and in-person meetings hosted by AAAOM.



Education & Credentialing Committee


Chairperson: Michael Jabbour, CSP, MS, LAc

Email this committee

The purpose of the AAAOM Education and Credentialing Committee is to provide expertise and perspective from within the professional association to any accrediting, licensing and/or educating body. Further, this committee's role is to address any concern, proposal, or question related to educational standards within the AOM community.



Finance Committee

Treasurer & Chairperson: Carlos Chapa, PhD, Dipl OM, LAc

Email this committee


The purpose of the AAAOM Finance Committee is to oversee all financial dealings of the AAAOM and provide periodic financial reports to both the Board of Directors and the membership.



Good Preparation and Dispensing Committee

Chairperson: Kevin Ergil, MA, MS, LAc, Dipl OM (NCCAOM), FNAAOM




Governance Committee



Email this committee


The purpose of the AAAOM Governance Committee is to assess governance practices and make recommendations to the Board on the organization and structure of the Board and its committees, task forces, councils, and advisory groups; association bylaws and procedures; board performance and self-evaluation; orientation of new Directors; development of director leadership skills, and other aspects of association governance, as appropriate.



Inter-Professional Practice Committee

Chairperson: Amanda Gaitaud, LAc


Email this committee


The purpose of the inter-professional practice committee is to develop and provide resources that address the challenges of integrating acupuncture and Oriental medicine in healthcare settings including inter-professional collaboration and communication, practice-based learning, professional development and evidence-based medicine. The inter-professional practice committee also serves to define, promote and support professional standards that pertain to acupuncture and Oriental medicine practice in a patient-centered healthcare model such as values, ethics, teamwork, roles, responsibilities, and institutional healthcare practice.




Media Affairs & Publications Committee

Chairperson: Andrew Vu, MAcOM, LAc


Email this committee


The purpose of the AAAOM Media Affairs & Publications Committee is to edit and oversee communications within the AAAOM and those issued from the AAAOM. The committee provides prepared statements and information to the membership and members of the general public.




Practice Management Committee

Chairperson: Jamie Davis, MA, MSA, LAc


Email this committee


In order for the AOM field to flourish as a whole, each of its professional members must have the tools to grow profitable and successful careers within the field. The purpose of the practice management committee is to develop standard business protocols and provide guidance to licensed acupuncturists to 1) improve their private practices’ access to new patients through patient education, community, and inter-professional outreach; and 2) to maintain a profitable practice through practice management skills.




Public Policy Committee

Chairperson: Rhonda Bathurst, LAc


Email this committee


The AAAOM Public Policy Committee coordinates, guides, monitors, and implements AOM legislative and regulatory proposals and actions at the federal, state, and inter-professional (self-regulating) levels on behalf of practitioners, patients, and other stakeholders.


Association Management Software  ::  Legal